A day to give thanks…

Posted on November 26, 2009

1


Today has been for me Thanksgiving day and is now the beginning of said day for people in the U.S. and I doubt that many people will read this begin such a holiday but this is for me as much as it is for others.

Today was the first time in my life that I have spent this special holiday away from my family and I would be lying if I said that I was not sobered by that fact and didn’t spend parts of the day thinking about this and missing everyone back home. This has been the hardest day for me so far being here. Not because of the work but because of the void of the ones I loved on this special day. A day that we give thanks for all of the many blessing we have. And although I give thanks for them everyday I give a special thanks for them on this day. They are the reason I am where I am today and without them I would never be the person that I am today. I dont want to names because they are too many to count and I do not want to leave anyone out, but you know who you are, my family whether it be by blood or by other means.

A couple weeks ago I came across a reading that I would like to share with you and offer a sort of prayer on this day. It is our custom in my family as is in many families to bless the meal and this is a duty that almost always, especially in recent years, falls on me. Although I try to pass the buck it always comes back to me. I promise you its not because my prayers are any better or hold anymore weight but none the less I am asked to do it and when asked to do something like prayer we should feel honored.  So today on this day of giving thanks I would like to offer a prayer of sorts. I will ask the help of Thomas Pettepiece and his writing “Visions of a Hungry World”

Let us Pray

Loving and Most gracious God on this day we give thanks to you for the many blessing you pour down each and every day. Though we may not fully understand or recognize them when we see them we do know that all that we have is a gift, not of our own doing or being but from you.

In all of these blessing we know that we are blessed so that we may bless others, not so we can store up what we have in barns or banks but so we can give freely of what we have been given. Time and time again we are reminded of those who have less than we have and so on this day of thanks we offer a special prayer for them as well as ourselves.

For the millions of those whose children cry at night from pain and hungry, and those whose parents die too soon we pray that your mercy and blessing be upon them. Shows how it is that we may give of ourselves for them.

We know that when the world seems devoid of hope it is hard to give thanks. Yet we hear many who faithfully stay together helping one another, who despite living in the streets and eating the discards of others, sacrifice what they have so that others may survive. For these we give thanks for showing us what it means to sacrifice and live in community.

We hear of others who despite persecution and rish of death stay to minster and serve the poor and the hungry in your name, all the while giving thanks for your love and bounty and for all of these Lord we give you thanks on this day.

Just as the leper returned to give thanks to you we come back to you O Lord to give you thanks for everything in hopes that you may respond, as you did to the leper, “Your faith has made you well.”  Oh how great is the miracle of thanksgiving brought to us daily in the lessons of life and others.

Praise and majesty be yours loving God  for the healing of thanksgiving, we give you thanks. May we as your people learn to love as you love and live as you lived and give as freely as you give. All honor and glory is yours, now and forever more. Amen

Posted in: Personal, Prayer