Cambodia is not near as fun when you are sick!

Posted on November 28, 2009

0


Last night I went my nose was running as it has been for the past few days and so I thought that i would take some medicine and get some sleep. When I woke up this morning I felt horrible. I thought it might be because of the meds I took but I realized that I was getting a fever. I took some ibuprofen and spent the rest of the day on the couch falling in and out of sleep. Around 5 I got up and went to the store to get some bread and others food supplies.

The only thing that is good about being sick in Cambodia is that there are plenty of movie channels to usually find something to watch and many times they are movies I may never watch otherwise but it may be the only thing on. For instance I have seen just about all of the Lethal Weapon films before and probably wouldnt watch them again but they are on all the time and so I watch them.

Today I saw a movie called Mr. Magorium’s Wonder Emporium. It was a truly wonderful movie. It was one of those movies that are just good and clean. It has a sense of whimsy about it that in its own way is very deep. I would like to share a quote with you from the movie. I know that I have been quoting a lot of different things lately but I find these quotes and I want to share them with the world.

Near the end  of the movie Mr. Magorium is talking about death and he says this:

“When King Lear dies in Act V, do you know what Shakespeare has written? He’s written “He dies.” That’s all, nothing more. No fanfare, no metaphor, no brilliant final words. The culmination of the most influential work of dramatic literature is “He dies.” It takes Shakespeare, a genius, to come up with “He dies.” And yet every time I read those two words, I find myself overwhelmed with dysphoria. And I know it’s only natural to be sad, but not because of the words “He dies.” but because of the life we saw prior to the words.

I’ve lived all five of my acts, Mahoney, and I am not asking you to be happy that I must go. I’m only asking that you turn the page, continue reading… and let the next story begin. And if anyone asks what became of me, you relate my life in all its wonder, and end it with a simple and modest “He died.”

I found this quote to be very thought provoking. I have been thinking a lot about the idea of our lives being stories because of the books that I have been reading and I am seeing everyday how important it is that we live our lives in a way that is worth of a good story, of being apart of our bigger story.

I have always been a person that didnt want a big funeral, something small and simple. I heard when I was young a person from my church say “I dont want people to sing at my funeral, if you want to sing to me do it while I am here and can hear it.”

I dont really have any deep thoughts about this quote, I just wanted to send it out into the cosmic void that is the internet. My brain doesnt work as well when I am sick so please forgive me for this post. I promise to try and do better next time.

Posted in: Personal, Revelation