The Day After…

Posted on December 26, 2009

0


Well yesterday was my first Christmas away from my family and I guess it was an interesting experience. It was not too terribly sad, except for a few moments it most just felt like another day. Being here in Cambodia everything just went on like any other day, children went to school, businesses were open and well the weather was the same as the day before and the day before that. It probably didnt help that there is absolutely nothing in my apartment that is in any way Christmas related. I have no tree, no decorations, just my everyday things. I thought about getting a tree, but I couldnt really find a point in it. When you live alone then there is no real reason for something like that unless you just want it in your window or something to put presents under.

So I slept in yesterday and hung around the apartment all day. I went to Steve’s Steakhouse for my Turkey Dinner and was not disappointed. It was not any where near as good as Christmas at my Grand Mothers but it was good to get some turkey and dressing on Christmas. I went with my Supervisor Romy and we talked about Christmas and a lot of different things. Then I came home and got on skype and got to watch my family open up Christmas presents. It was pretty awesome to be seeing it all. So many times you feel when you are away from your family that everything just goes on with out you cause it does, but it was nice to get to be a part of this holiday even if it was over skype.

Today was full of more relaxing just like the previous days, add in doing some laundry. I have found myself doodling lately. I have tried drawing a few things but they never come out the way i intend them to so I ave decided that its just better for me to not try and draw anything but just start drawing and turn what I am drawing into something.Today I found myself drawing random signs of growth from acorns to flowers to grass to sticks, it was very random. I guess I could probably psycho analysis this and come up with some reasoning behind it but I will leave that for some other day.

I will be so happy when I start teaching in January because I think I am going stir crazy here and getting cabin fever. One thing I know for sure is that I need to get out of this apartment tomorrow cause when I stay here all day I do nothing but eat and thats def. not good. So tomorrow I will try and go to church and then maybe go somewhere in the city, to a mall or something just to get out. All in all though I have enjoyed having this time to rest and it has been good for me and Cooper to have this time to bond and work on house breaking him. Not too much longer though before I am back to work and hopefully back to writing more interesting blog posts.

I hope that everyone had a great Christmas and have a wonderful New Year.

Posted in: Advent, Personal